Our Fabulous Followers

This Friday’s Fabulous Follower is…Mirka Barnard

This weeks fabulous follower is Mirka Barnard (28) who lives in Parys in a house as small as a shoebox :)

Tell us what you do: I run a kayak training school and manage a national kayaking team.  – www.whitewatertraining.co.za

What you do in your spare time or what you would do if you had time.

-       I blog – http://how-about-a-nice-cup-of-tea.blogspot.com

-       I build sets for shows.

-       I make clothes

What inspires you:
Nature

Where would you go:
On a date/date night: I love being at home on date nights – we usually get our favorite snacks and have a picnic in the living room.

For coffee with the girls: “Feast” in Parys or nowadays at my house because my husband bought me an awesome coffee/cappuccino/espresso machine.

Weekend Lunch with Friends: Feast

Shops you love:
Clothes:  I love thrift stores and I swop clothes with my friends but if I buy something new it is usually at Mr Price because it is cheap and cheerful.

Food: To be honest, Parys only has very limited options but I prefer the bakery at Pick and Pay and when it comes to cakes I am in love with Harry’s Cheesecakes.

Home ware: I hardly buy stuff for the home – I either make it or I collect from thrift stores or inherit but for sheets and things I go to Mr Price home.

Vintage: I have my secrets……

Other: For the best hot chocolate in town go to Hoi Poloi, all I can say is “Oh my goodness”.
What is your top Cheap Luxury  Travel Tip?
We usually go on cheap holidays :) – we go away a lot and instead of spending our money on one very expensive holiday in a fancy hotel we travel all over and either stay with friends or in backpackers. This way you save and you get to know the surroundings much better. Also we make good old “padkos” –this is your biggest money-saver!

Your bargain buys of the month/year/ decade: I bought a vintage yellow dress in mint condition for R50 at the SPCA Charity shop which must be worth at least R500.  This one stood out for me but I tend to only buy bargains.;)

In our Make Up bag what products can’t you live without and why? I can’t live without my Mac Foundation – it always makes your skin look super good, Clinique Mascara – makes your lashes super long, Annique Tissue Oil – it is a non-greasy tissue oil and I hate having dry skin especially in the winter.

What are your three Cheap Luxury tips?

  • Rinse your face with Rooibos tea. Put the bag in your bathroom sink and soak – it is full of anti-oxidants and affordable.
  • You can never have enough storage – I love those big black plastic boxes that you stack on top of each other and they can be used anywhere and great for traveling.
  • Lemon juice, lemon juice, lemon juice! Great in food, great for cleaning.

3 things about you would SPLURGE on:

  • Red Lipstick
  • Coffee
  • Books

3 things about you would SAVE on:

  • Food – you will be surprised what bargains you can find for the same thing.
  • Cleaning products – I like using stuff like lemon juice, bicarbonate of soda and good old elbow grease!
  • A “Welcome” mat – can’t see the point of spending money on that, I know some will argue but I would rather buy myself something nice with that money.

***********************************************************************************************************************

If you would like to be featured as one of our Fabulous Follower please send me an email we just love hearing from you!

x

Natalie

PS. All our Fabulous Follower articles are written by the followers themselves and are not necessarily the opinions of Cheap Luxury.

Discussion

One thought on “This Friday’s Fabulous Follower is…Mirka Barnard

  1. Mirka jy’s my hero!

    Posted by Ronel | November 28, 2012, 9:46 am

Leave a Reply

Hello Fabulous Followers

I'm Natalie, creator, writer, editor and sometimes photographer of Cheap Luxury. I created this blog as a project to discover my passion. I write it with my darling mom Elaine and it has evolved into something beautiful and I am very proud of what has been created. I love amazing food, shopping specials and living a fabulously fugal life. Thank you for visiting our blog. Please feel free to pour yourself a cup of tea, make yourself at home and indulge in our recipes, tips and meanderings. x Natalie

Visit My Blog x Elaine

For the last seven years or so I have been wrestling with writing a novel and what a fierce tussle it is. My ambition is to be a published author before I’m seventy! This is a blog of my journey and bits and pieces that I have written....I hope you enjoy! x Elaine

Sign up for our newsletter to get all the latest updates on events, promotions and competitions!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 326 other followers

little tips & tweets

Meet Our Photographer

Meet our in-house photographer Steven, who I happen to have the privilege of being married to! I just want to say how grateful we are to him for all his hard work and creativity. Without his pictures our blog would just be a thousand words. x Natalie & Elaine

bloglovin
BlogWithIntegrity.com
August 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Copyright & Conditions

All of the content and photos on this blog are ours unless otherwise stated. You are more than welcome to re-blog both content and photos as long as you credit Cheap Luxury and provide a link back to our blog!

We are not paid for what we write. All articles are based on our own opinions and should be treated as such. Any adverts that appear on the site will be clearly marked as such.

Happy Blogging x

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 326 other followers

