Bargains, Loyalty Cards, Recipes

Yay for Tomato season!

Yesterday, I bought one of Woolies bargains available for bearers of the Woolies Club Card. Tomatoes; 1 pack of 2 kilos for R20, take 2 for R30! Now, I hear you ask, what will you do with 4 kilos of ripe tomatoes even though you got each for a bargain price? They’ll go off before you know it! And where will your saving be then?

Well, the first thing I did was give a few away. :)

That done, I took about 15 of them and oven roasted them with a little olive oil. When they were cold, I blended them to a fine pulp in order to use them as a pasta sauce or tomato soup. I’ll add herbs and seasonings when I use them.

While these were roasting, I halved about 18 of them, put them in the coolest part of the oven while I roasted the other trayful and dried them out. I had to switch off the oven when I went to bed as I have a gas oven, but I put them back this morning on VERY low, for a few more hours.  I didn’t dry them out completely and when they were cold, I packed them into sterilised jars with some thyme (washed and dried) and some fresh garlic, and filled up the jars with good olive oil and a bit of salt. I used my new best friend, lemon infused olive oil from The Olive Tap at Food Lovers Market at Nicolway, for extra flavour, but any cold-pressed Extra Virgin olive oil will do. They will keep in the fridge almost indefinitely. Add them to soups and stews.

Thinking of that, I don’t think I made enough. . .:)

x

Elaine

Please note: although I wrote this about Woolies, every veggie shop and veggie department are selling tomatoes very cheaply so look out for them.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Yay for Tomato season!

  1. Hi Lainie,
    It’s a wonderful idea to dry them! I am going to have a go.
    My own version of tomatoes and olive oil included chopped garlic and some Italian herbs. It was very satisfying (or is that awesome? ;) with melted cheese on toast for breakfast.
    I also made a jar without garlic for the days I was going to be close to people.

    Posted by Jenny Sterne | September 7, 2012, 4:07 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Macaroni Cheese with a Twist « Cheap Luxury - September 10, 2012

Leave a Reply

Hello Fabulous Followers

I'm Natalie, creator, writer, editor and sometimes photographer of Cheap Luxury. I created this blog as a project to discover my passion. I write it with my darling mom Elaine and it has evolved into something beautiful and I am very proud of what has been created. I love amazing food, shopping specials and living a fabulously fugal life. Thank you for visiting our blog. Please feel free to pour yourself a cup of tea, make yourself at home and indulge in our recipes, tips and meanderings. x Natalie

Visit My Blog x Elaine

For the last seven years or so I have been wrestling with writing a novel and what a fierce tussle it is. My ambition is to be a published author before I’m seventy! This is a blog of my journey and bits and pieces that I have written....I hope you enjoy! x Elaine

Sign up for our newsletter to get all the latest updates on events, promotions and competitions!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,132 other followers

little tips & tweets

Meet Our Photographer

Meet our in-house photographer Steven, who I happen to have the privilege of being married to! I just want to say how grateful we are to him for all his hard work and creativity. Without his pictures our blog would just be a thousand words. x Natalie & Elaine

bloglovin
BlogWithIntegrity.com
September 2012
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Copyright & Conditions

All of the content and photos on this blog are ours unless otherwise stated. You are more than welcome to re-blog both content and photos as long as you credit Cheap Luxury and provide a link back to our blog!

We are not paid for what we write. All articles are based on our own opinions and should be treated as such. Any adverts that appear on the site will be clearly marked as such.

Happy Blogging x

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,132 other followers

